The Churchill War Rooms is a museum in London and one of the five branches of the Empire Museum. The museum houses the booth cabins, the completed underground historic booths held by the United States central government in World War II, and the Museum of Museums, the biographical museum exploring the life of British Republicman Winston Churchill .

The hotel is located in the center of the city of Westminster, in 1938. They were fully operational on August 27, 1939, the week before the Vietnam War in Germany. , Which will be released in August 1945 after the surrender of Japan.

After the war, the historical value of the rooms in the cabin rental rooms was recognized. Its preservation made the responsibility of the Ministry of Labor and the Department for the environment, for how many times a limited number of advertisers could visit by appointment. In the Eighties, the Imperial War Museum was taken over to take over the administration of the site, and the booths of the cabin house were opened to the public in April 1984. The museum was reopended in the following year the largest Redvelopment the Churchill Museum and Cabinet War The staff was very friendly and helpful.

In 1936, the Air Ministry, the British government department responsible for the Royal Air Force, believed that in the event of an enemy air bombing in London, the war would cause up to 200,000 casualties a week. The British government commissions under Warren Fisher and Sir James Rae in 1937 and 1938 considered that the main government offices should be scattered from central London to the suburbs, and non-essential offices to the Midlands or Northwest. While awaiting this dispersal in May 1938, Sir Hastings Ismay, then deputy secretary of the Imperial Defense Committee, ordered an Office of Works survey in Whitehall to identify a suitable location for a temporary government emergency center. The office concluded that the most convenient location was the basement of the New Public Offices (NPO), a government building located on the corner of Horse Guards Road with Great George Street, near Parliament Square. The building now houses the HM Treasury.
The face of the Great George Street of the New Public Offices, whose basement houses the Cabinet War Rooms.

Work to convert the hold of the New Public Offices began under the supervision of Ismay and Sir Leslie Hollis in June 1938. The work included the installation of communication and broadcasting equipment, soundproofing, ventilation and reinforcement. Meanwhile, in the summer of 1938, the War Ministry, the Admiralty and the Air Ministry had developed the concept of a Central War Room that would facilitate discussion and decision-making among the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

As the final authority was with the civilian government, the Cabinet, or a smaller War Cabinet, would require close access to high-ranking military figures. This meant accommodation near the Central War Room of the military. In May 1939, it was decided that the Cabinet would be housed inside the Central War Room. In August 1939, with war installations imminent and protected in the suburbs not yet ready, the War Rooms came into operation on August 27, 1939, a few days before the invasion of Poland on September 1, and the declaration of war Great Britain to Germany on 3 September.

During its operational life, two of the Cabinet War Rooms were of particular importance. Once operational, the Facility Map Room was in constant use and was open 24 hours by Royal Navy, British Army and Royal Air Force officers. These officers were responsible for producing a daily intelligence summary for the king, the prime minister and the military chiefs of the General Staff.

The other main room was the Cabinet Room. Until the opening of the Battle of France, which began on May 10, 1940, the war cabinet of Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain met in the War Rooms only once, in October 1939. Following the appointment of Winston Churchill as First Minister, Churchill visited the Cabinet Room in May 1940 and declared, “This is the room from which I will direct the war.” In all, 115 Cabinet meetings were held in the Office of War Rooms, the last on March 28, 1945, when the bombing campaign against German weapons came to an end.
Office War Rooms Cabinet – Room of Brendan Bracken, Minister of Information of Churchill.

On October 22, 1940, during the Blitz bombing campaign against Great Britain, it was decided to increase the protection of the Cabinet’s War Rooms by installing a massive layer of concrete known as “Laje”. Up to 1.5 meters thick, Slab was progressively extended, and in the spring of 1941, greater protection allowed the Cabinet War Rooms to expand to three times their original size. Although the use of many of the individual rooms of the War Rooms had changed over the course of the war, the facilities included employee dormitories, private rooms for military officers and senior ministers, and rooms for typists or telephone operators.

Two other notable rooms include the Transatlantic Telephone Room and Churchill’s office room. From 1943, an encrypted SIGSALY-encoded telephone was installed in the basement of Selfridges, Oxford Street, connected to a similar terminal in the Pentagon building. This allowed Churchill to speak securely to US President Roosevelt in Washington with the first conference on July 15, 1943.

Subsequent extensions were installed at 10 Downing Street and the specially constructed Transatlantic Telephone Room inside the Cabinet War Rooms. Churchill’s office room included BBC broadcasting equipment; Churchill made four war transmissions from the Cabinet War Rooms. Although the office room was also equipped as a bedroom, Churchill rarely slept in the basement, preferring to sleep at 10 Downing Street or No.10 Annexe, an apartment in the New Public Offices directly above the Cabinet War Rooms. His daughter Mary Soames often slept in the room allocated to Mrs. Churchill.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *