The Hampton Court is a former Royal Palace situated in the London borough of Richmond upon Thames, in the South West of the British capital.
The palace is located 11.7 miles south of Charing Cross and upstream from central London by the River Thames. is open to the public as an important tourist attraction. The palace park hosts two annual festivals, the “Hampton Court Palace Festival” and the “Hampton Court Palace Flower Show”.
Thomas Wolsey, then Archbishop of York and Chief Minister of the King, took him in rent in 1514 and rebuilt the fourteenth-century manor there in the following seven years, between 1515 and 1521, forming the nucleus of the present palace. Wolsey spent abundantly to build the finest palace in England at Hampton Court. However, King Henry VIII, boiling with envy with such magnificence, caused the Cardinal to lose influence, confiscated the Hampton Court Palace and forced him to accept the Richmond Palace in return.
The Hampton Court sections in Tudor Style, which were later repaired and rebuilt by Henry VIII, suggest that Wolsey intended to make a Renaissance cardinal palace in the style of Italian architects such as Filarete and Leonardo da Vinci: symmetrical rectilinear plan, large, prominent apartments on a noble floor, classic details. Jonathan Foyle suggested that Wolsey drew inspiration from De Cardinalatu’s work of Paolo Cortese, a cardinal’s manual that includes advice on palatine architecture published in 1510. Planned elements of long-lost structures at Hampton Court appear to have been based on Renaissance geometric programs, a Roman influence more subtle than the famous terracotta busts of the Roman Emperors of Giovanni da Maiano that survive in the great courtyard. Hampton Court remains the only one of the 50 palaces Henry VIII built with the “Reform” funding.
The palace was seized by Lord Wolsey, Henry VIII, around 1525, although the cardinal continued to live there until 1529. Henry VIII added the Great Hall, which was the last great medieval hall built by the English monarchy, and the Royal Tennis Court, not the present version of the game.
In 1604, the palace was the meeting place of King James I with representatives of the English Puritans, known as the Hampton Court Conference; although no agreement was reached, the meeting led the King to commission the King James Version of the Bible.
Hampton Court in 1708, in an aerial view of Britannia Illustrata by Jan Kip and Leonard Knyff.
During the reign of William III and Mary II, parts of the additions of Henry VIII were demolished, a new wing was added (partially under the supervision of Sir Christopher Wren), and the apartments of ceremony became of regular use. Half of the Tudor palace was replaced in a project that lasted from 1689 to 1694. After the Queen died, William III lost interest in the renovation, but it was in Hampton Court Park that he fell from his horse in 1702, dying later due to injuries at Kensington Palace. In later reigns, the rooms of ceremony were neglected, but in the reign of George II and its Queen, Carolina of Ansbach, new renovations took place, with architects like William Kent in charge of designing the new decorations. The Queen’s Private Apartments are open to the public and include your bedroom and bathroom.
From the reign of King George II in 1760, monarchs tended to favor other London palaces, and Hampton Court ceased to be a royal residence. Originally it had apartments housing residents in favor and favor – one of them was Olave Baden-Powell, wife of the founder of Scouting – but few remain occupied now. One of the nineteenth-century palace keepers was Samuel Parkes who received the “Victoria Cross” at Charge of the Light Brigade in 1854.
In 1796 restoration work began on the Great Hall. In 1838, Queen Victoria completed the restoration and opened the palace to the public. An important fire at the King’s Apartments in 1986 led to a new restoration program that was only completed in 1995.
In February 2016, the first Catholic mass for the last 450 years was celebrated in the palace. Cardinal Vincent Nichols, leader of the Catholic Church in England and Wales, celebrated vespers with Anglican bishop of London Richard Charters in a symbolic gesture of reconciliation. Hovering over the ceremony was a ceiling built in the reign of Henry VIII marked 32 times with the royal motto “Dieu et mon Droit” (God and My Right), a way of emphasizing his authority over the Church of England.
Queen Joanna Seymour gave birth to Prince Edward, the future King Edward VI, at Hampton Court in 1537. She died there twelve days later, and her ghost is said to haunt the steps of the palace to this day . Queen Catherine Howard was imprisoned there in 1542 and is said to have run through the Long Gallery shouting for King Henry VIII to save her, before her guards picked her up and dragged her away. It is said that a ghost haunts the palace, sometimes shouting in the same gallery. Others say they see Henry VIII himself and Anne Boleyn.
In December 2003, it became known that in October of that same year a Hampton Court lock-up chamber had engraved an indistinct image of “a mysterious figure with a long coat closing the fire door.” According to a report, “the palace … maintains that this scene provides evidence that ghosts exist.” A female visitor also wrote in the guestbook that she must have seen a ghost in that area during that time. “We’re also confused – this is not a joke, we did not manipulate it,” said Vikki Wood, a Hampton Court spokeswoman, when asked if the photo the palace presented was a Christmas trick. “We do not know, genuinely, who or what it is.” Explanations for the phenomenon have stretched from suggestions by researchers in psychology that might be a member of the public thinking that it was helping to close the doors, until other suggestions for thermal effects.