A Southwark Cathedral or a St. Mary Overie School Cathedral and St Savior Church Overie, Southwark, London, lies on the south bank of the River Thames near London Bridge. It is a mother church of the Anglican Diocese of Southwark. It has been a place of worship for over 1,000 years but once only from the creation of the diocese of Southwark in 1905.
Between 1106 and 1538 was a church of an Augustinian Priory, Priory of Southwark, dedicated to the Virgin Mary. After a dissolution of the monasteries, it became a parish church, with a new dedication of San Salvador. One church was in the diocese of Winchester until 1877, when a parish of St. Savior was transferred to a diocese of Rochester. The current building maintains a database built between 1220 and 1420, although it is a reconstitution of the late nineteenth century.
Sixteenth-century London historian John Stow recorded the origins of the Holy Mary Priory in Southwark, which was heard by Bartolomeu Linsted, the last before it was dissolved. Linsted stated that it was founded as an alliance “long before the conquest” of a maid named Mary, with the profits of a ferry crossing the Thames, inherited from her parents. Later, she was converted into a college of priests by “Swithen, the Noble Lady.” Finally, in 1106, it was refounded as an Augustinian priory.
The story of the boatman’s daughter, Mary, and its benefits have become very popular, but then historians of a rational history of Linsted. Thus the author of a 1862 guide to a Church of St. Savior suggested that once Swithun’s “noble lady” had actually been a man – Swithun, bishop of Winchester from 852 or 853 until his death in 863.
In the twentieth century he was invited by Thomas P. Stevens, Successor and Sacristan, and later by the Honorary Canon of Southwark Cathedral, who wrote a series of guides for the cathedral and a story that has been revised and reprinted many times. He passed a date to the original database. The monuments planned by St Swithun on the 9th.
Is it unlikely according to who? That a minister preceded the conversion of Wessex in the mid-seventh century, or a foundation of the “burh” c. 886. There is no evidence for the suggestions of a monastery founded by S. Swithun in the ninth century.
The earliest reference to the site was in the Letter Visitor Book of 1086, when the “minster” of Southwark appears to have been under the control of William the middle-aged Conqueror, Bishop Odo of Bayeux.
The Old English minster was the church college of the living room on the south side of the Thames. In 1106, during the reign of Henry I, he became the prime minister of the bishops of Winchester, who established his London seat Winchester Palace immediately to the west in 1149. The remaining wall of the palace refectory, with a glass window, you survive in Clink Street.
The Priory dedicated itself to the Virgin Mother the ‘St Mary’ but had the extra soubriquet of ‘Overie’ (‘over the water’) to distinguish it from any other culture in the city with the same name.
Some fragments of the 12th century manufacture. The church in its present form, however, dates between 1220 and 1420, making it the first Gothic in London.
The church was severely damaged in the Great Fire of 1212. Rebuilding took place during the thirteenth century, although the exact dates are unknown. In its reconstructed state – the basic layout of which survives today – the church was cruciform in plan, with an aisled ship of six bays, a crossing tower, transepts, and a five bay choir. Beyond the choir stood a lower retrochoir or “Lady Chapel”, the form of which can be interpreted as a group of four chapels with separate gabled roofs, two opening from the choir, and two from each aisle.
There was a chapel dedicated to Mary Magdalen, for the use of the parishioners, in the angle between the south transept and the choir, and another chapel was later added to the east of the retrochoir. This was to become known as the “Bishop’s chapel” as it was the burial place of Lancelot Andrewes.
In the 1390s, the church was again damaged by fire, and in around 1420 the Bishop of Winchester Henry Beaufort, assisted with the rebuilding of the south transept and the completion of the tower.
During the 15th century the parochial chapel was rebuilt, and the ship and north transept were given wooden vaults following the collapse of the stone ceiling in 1469. Some of the carved bosses from the vault (destroyed in the 19th century) are preserved in the cathedral .
The 14th-century poet John Gower lived in the priory precinct and is entombed in the church, with a splendid memorial, with polychrome panels. There is also a recumbent effigy of a knight in timber (rather than brass or stone) and it is suggested by the church that this date from the 13th century. If so then this is one of the oldest such memorials and some credence can be given to the suggestion by its lack of heraldic emblems.