The Musée d’Orsay (Musée d’Orsay in French) is a museum in the city of Paris, France. It is located on the left bank of the river Seine in the VII arrondissement. The museum’s collections include mainly paintings and sculptures of Western art from the period between 1848 and 1914. Among others, there are works by Van Gogh, Susana, Degas, Maurice Denis, Odilon Redon. There are also temporary exhibitions that take place in parallel with the permanent exhibition.
The building, which currently houses the museum, was originally a railway station, Gare de Orsay, built for the Chemin de Fer from Paris to Orléans, in the place where it erected until 1871 a former administrative palace, the Palais d’Orsay. It was inaugurated in 1898, in time for the Universal Exhibition of 1900. The project was the architect Victour Laloux.
In 1939, it ceased to be the terminal of the line connecting Paris to Orléans due to the reduced length of the dock, becoming only a station of the suburban railway network; and later, during World War II served as post office. The station was closed on January 1, 1973.
In 1977, the French Government decided to transform the space into a museum. It was inaugurated by the then president, François Mitterrand, on December 1, 1986. The architects Renaud Bardon, Pierre Colboc and Jean-Paul Philippon were responsible for the adaptation of the station.