The Ca ‘d’Oro is a well-known Venetian palace, situated on the sestiere of Cannaregio and facing the Grand Canal. It is currently used as a museum.
The palace was built between 1421 and about 1440 by order of the Venetian merchant Marino Contarini.
The building did not have a single designer, but was the fruit of the work of several masters, coordinated by Marino Contarini himself. Among them were Marco d’Amedeo, probably director of the works, the Milanese sculptor Matteo Raverti, the Venetians Giovani and Bartolomeo Bon and the Frenchman Jean Charlier, mentioned in the documents of expenses, conserved until today, like Zuanne de Franza, that occupied of the gilded and final coloration of the facade.