The Scuola Grande di San Rocco is a confraternity of laity founded in 1478. The profound popular veneration of Saint Roch, whose relic was already in the possession of the Confraternity since 1485, contributed to its strong growth to become the richest school of the city.
It was then that it was decided to build the new massive monumental headquarters, then calling Tintoretto to depict his most famous pictorial cycle with episodes of the Old and New Testament. It is the only one of the ancient Great Schools to have survived the fall of the Republic.
It is an exceptional place where over 60 paintings are kept in their original location in a building that has hardly changed since its construction.
Today the association is still active and still pursues the old charitable tasks, in addition to taking care of its remarkable artistic heritage