Rembrandt House (Rembrandthuis) is a residence in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, where Rembrandt lived and painted between 1636 and 1658. In 1911 it was converted into the Rembrandt House Museum and retains the main features of the original dwelling of the painter.
The residence is known for being a historic home and also an art museum, located on the Jodenbreestraat, Amsterdam’s central street. The collection of works contains contemporary paintings by Rembrandt. In 2014, the museum had 237,383 visitors.
Rembrant lived in this house from 1639 to 1658. The house was built in about 1606, in 1639 the painter bought the house. some time later, Rembrandt became involved in some financial problems and had to put the house up for auction to clear his debts. Since then, the house has been divided into two pieces, and different families have lived there.
In 1907, the city of Amsterdam acquired the two pieces of the construction, that stopped being residential. The architect K.PC. of Bazel was called to restore much of Rembrandt’s house. After the restoration, the house was inaugurated as the Museum of Rembrandt in 1911, by Queen Wilhelmina.
The building has undergone some renovations since then. In 1998 a new exhibition wing was built in the museum. In addition, the curators decided to restore the building in a format similar to that of the time when Rembrandt lived there.
A few years ago, the interior of the residence was completely redesigned to show the public how the house appeared to be at the time Rembrandt lived there. Next to the environment, there is a modern construction with the main works and made of the Dutch painter.
The restoration restoration was overseen by the architect Maarten Neericx, and by the historian Henk Zantkuijl. During the monitoring of the project they consulted Rembrandt’s drawings, as well as the inventories that you owned of the property. After the reconstitution of the museum, the house reopened to the public in 1999.
In his new space, some attractions draw more attention from visitors, such as the small bed where Rembrandt slept, a large studio – where he painted most of his works, including the most famous – and a small room where Rembrandt stored handicrafts which appeared in some of his works.
The collection present in the House of Rembrandt was acquired over time through the private contribution of admirers of the painter’s works, or through purchases at auctions. Today the museum has a large, almost complete, exhibition of Rembrandt’s works. In addition to the works of the painter, the museum has a room specially designed for the works of Rembrandt reproduced by his contemporaries, be they his students or even his teachers. In the new wing, built in 1998, is a research library for the artist. There is also a special collection featuring exhibitions of artists who performed in Amsterdam before the arrival of Rembrandt in 1631, such as Pieter Lastman (Rembrandt’s teacher in the city) and Jan Pynas.
Currently, Michael Huijser is the director of the museum and David de Witt is the curator.