The Royal Palace of Amsterdam (Koninklijk Paleis te Amsterdam or Paleis op de Dam, in Dutch), is a palace of the capital of the Netherlands, located at the western end of Dam Square, near the Nieuwe Kerk church. It is one of the four official palaces of the Netherlands at the disposal of King Guillaume.
It was erected between 1648 and 1665 – during the Golden Century of the Netherlands, when Amsterdam was at the height of its power – according to a project of the architect and artist Jacob van Campen. The building, designed in classic Dutch style, was built to welcome the Stadhuis (“City Hall”). The sculptures came from Artus Quellijn’s workshop. It was inaugurated on July 29, 1655 by city leaders. The interiors, centered on the power and prestige of Amsterdam, were later completed mainly by Rembrandt and Ferdinand Bol.
From 1808, the building ceased to be considered as the seat of the municipality, gaining the status of royal palace. Since 1939 it is used by the royal family of the House of Orange-Nassau, not as their residence , but with functions of representation and as guest house for state visits. Due to restoration works, the palace was closed to the public between September 2005 and summer 2008.
Since 1856 it has been erected directly in front of the palace, where the old gothic town hall stood, the memorial De Eendracht (“The Harmony”), executed by Louis Royer, who, in 1914, had to be removed and installed further away due to newly placed tram lines. In 1956 was erected in the square the Nationalmonument (“National Monument”). Both form a Rijksmonument.